2020 – Semi Finalists
2020 – Semi Finalists

2020 Semi Finalists

Well the task of selecting the semi-finalists of the 2020 Nedbank and Old Mutual Budget Speech Competition is finally over.

Here are the semi – finalists in no particular order:

Undergraduate Semi Finalists

Title Name Surname University
MsLee-AnneAndanjeUniversity of Pretoria
MrDicendChisekoUniversity of Fort Hare (Alice)
MissVuyiswaDlaminiStellenbosch University
MsJennaFrostUniversity of Cape Town
MrJohnHanssenUniversity of Pretoria
MrAdrianJosephUniversity of Cape Town
MrNdivhuwoMalangeNelson Mandela University
MrNjabuloMbetseUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MissKarenNdhlovuNelson Mandela University
MrSisonkePhemeUniversity of Johannesburg
MsNicolePhilanderUniversity of Johannesburg
MsSisiphoPoswaUniversity of Cape Town
MrMahfouzRaffeeUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MissArefaSelehoUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MissRopafadzoShavaUniversity of Cape Town
MissSuviraSinghUniversity of Johannesburg
MissThatoTeffoUniversity of Johannesburg
MrZola BradleyThamagaUniversity of Johannesburg
MsCaitlinWaltersUniversity of Cape Town
MissBuhleYalezoUniversity of Cape Town

Postgraduate Semi

Title Name Surname University
MrAyrton Jose CarvalheiroAmaralUniversity of Pretoria
MrDavidde VilliersStellenbosch University
MrLehlohonoloDomelaNelson Mandela University
MrDavideGrahamUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MrRomanoHaroldUniversity of Pretoria
MissLoveness MmamodilaKekanaUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MissChloe-MarieKikillusUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MissBiancaLakhaUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MrLindokuhleLukeThe University of South Africa
MrStanleyMabukaUniversity of Pretoria
MrSimbarasheMambaraUniversity of Cape Town
MissFeliciaMashimbyeUniversity of Johannesburg
MrNtsakoMathyeTshwane University of Technology
MrLuyandaMatomaneUniversity of Fort Hare (East London)
MsClaireMcCannRhodes University
MsYasminMeerholzUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MrLunganiMngomezuluUniversity of Zululand
MrShivenMoodleyUniversity of Fort Hare (East London)
MissLeboSiboyiUniversity of the Witwatersrand
MsSumaiyaSidatUniversity of the Witwatersrand

These essays will go through to the Adjudication panel to determine the final top 20 – 10 from each category. This will be announced in December.

Well done to all our winners for reaching this stage.

Competition ENTRIES close in:


Do you have a Query?

For queries about the competition, please contact the Budget Speech Competition administrator.